Did you know?

Melbourne’s progressive growth over the past two centuries has seen suburbs be developed in a variety of different ways, each giving birth to an ever changing housing landscape, sometimes geographical boundaries define the suburb, sometimes not.

Melbourne is home to 12 suburbs with over 10,000 houses;

  • Reservoir
  • Frankston
  • Glen Waverly
  • Berwick
  • St Albans
  • Pakenham
  • Point Cook
  • Werribee
  • Mount Waverly
  • Hoppers Crossing
  • Craigieburn
  • Sunbury

Related: Auction VS Auction

Interestingly each of Melbourne’s 12 ‘Mega Suburbs’ is bigger than medium-sized regional centres such as, Mildura, Shepparton and Warrnambool and without outlying suburbs and as many of the 12 ‘Mega Suburbs’ are still being developed they are likely to grow further.

When purchasing in larger suburbs it’s important to consider the specifics of the home itself. For example; the distance to the local schools, proximity to public transport, parks and shopping precincts as this can vary significantly.

Follow: Subscribe to this post's comments